So... what's going on this week for your entertainment?? Well, never expect "5 (five) minutes" to actually MEAN five minutes. In fact, contrary to normal thoughts - Turkey has proven me wrong. I received a call saying the telephone company man would be coming to install my phone line in five minutes, so I could get my internet turned on as well. Well, the call ended and of course, I was still in my "pj's" since it was my only morning to sleep in and get this... as I was thinking about getting dressed, the doorbell went off. The doorbell, by the way sounds like an attack of baby blue jays (who ever thought that was a welcoming sound never saw Thornbirds!!), so I threw on the closest decent things I could find (scary to say the least). Therefore, you can only imagine what I looked like - did I mention I had not brushed my teeth yet and let's not consider the condition of my hair!? Regardless, I answered the door, traumatized an old man and now I have a turkish phone number- not that it will help you to get in touch with me because it's just a live wire hanging out of the wall. But hey, in just up to three working days I should have an active internet connection. This means, I can end my pilfering career without any jail time!!! Yeah!!
Some random Turkish moments ... today over lunch while chatting with a Turkish friend, we were discussing books and authors ( wow, right???). Anyway, I brought up Kafka - the freak that he was - and my friend made the comment, "Only abnormal people can write". I love it!!! I want to write a book while I'm here and I think this is my justification! I can now feel like it is my personal calling (being that I am far from "normal") to be a writer. I always knew I was meant to write, I guess I was just waiting for the job description to become obvious. Who knew I needed to come to Turkey to figure that out?
Did you know that if you give someone your phone number they take that as an open invitation to bother you at ALL TIMES of the day and night? I know that "no good deed goes unpunished" but damn, really - I thought I was helping his guy out with English and only come to find out it was his way to get my number. One day, I swear, I'm going to dye my hair blonde (for real) - that way when I make SUCH stupid errors, I can blame it on that! One would think I wouldn't fall for such things, anymore.... ha ha I finally figured out how to turn my phone on and off though - so maybe it's okay. Oh and by the way, some comments don't require translation - think about what I said to him ... haven't had any more calls. 1.2.3. I win. Next.
Turkey continues to be a lot of fun. I am loving my position and the students are great. Haven't made it to the club - probably a good thing - not sure Izmit is ready for the way I dance. :) Of course, maybe my hips aren't ready for my dancing anymore either! Ha ha.
So... I will leave it here for now - all continues to go along swimmingly. I'll be in touch again soon. Let's hope the blue jays aren't calling anytime again soon!! (Especially when you are wearing what they consider here to be NOTHING!!!) :)
Take care - Hafta Gorusuruz ... (1.2.3. Next week....)

No comments:
Post a Comment